I love Jesus

Pursuit of Righteousness

1st Reading:  Acts 16:22-34

…Even at that hour of the night, the jailer took care of them and washed their wounds; and he, and his whole household, were baptized at once.  He led them to his house, spread a meal before them and joyfully celebrated with his whole household his newfound faith in God.

The jailer took care of Paul and Silas who were imprisoned during his watch but was miraculously freed by God himself.  Witnessing a miracle, this jailer brought the disciples of Jesus to his own home to care for them and to tend their wounds from the beating they received from their perpetrators.

These all happened during the untimely hour after midnight, that is why the scripture emphasizes that, “even at that hour of the night, the jailer took care of them…., ” the jailer “joyfully celebrated with his whole household his newfound faith in God.”  He was not even afraid of the outcome of welcoming into his home the disciples who were considered outlaws.

This is what happens to someone who has found his true faith.  It is like a man finding his one true love that he is willing to die for, no matter the consequences.  And his willingness to serve no matter the inconvenience it may require of him.

It is also what is required from all of us Christians if we want to follow Jesus.  We endangered ourselves of being labelled as hypocrites because our every actions should reflect our belief.  Should we stumble in our way to holiness, we risk being called frauds.  Though this should not stop us from pursuing what is good and true.

 

Gospel:  Jn 16:5-11

…What is the world’s sin, in regard to me?  Disbelief.  What is the path of righteousness?  It is the path I walk, by which I go to the Father; and you shall see me no more.  What is the path of justice?  It is the path on which the prince of this world will always stand condemned.

In the March 2014 issue of Kerygma Magazine, Rissa Singson-Kawpeng of Living by Grace/Just Breathe segment, challenged her readers to read the New Testament in 87 days by reading 3 chapters every single day. I took up the challenge.

She said and I quote, “ So let me share with you what I’ve found to be the easiest way to hear God:  by reading the Scripture. “

She also wrote, “our prayer lives become richer and more effective when we use our Bibles as we pray.”

I have skipped some days and I’m not going to start a lot of excuses from not being consistent as I should be, but I will keep going until I do finish reading the New Testament.

What do I hope to accomplish after?  Accompanied with prayer and a lot of meditation, I believe that I will have a newfound faith by knowing more about the life of Jesus.  I have been a Christian for a very long time, but my faith never really kicked in my entire being.  I want to experience the kind of peace and joy that comes with having the Wisdom and Humility that our Creator has shown when he became man.

So help me God!

 

Leave a comment